Thursday, December 30, 2010

2010 Hyundai Sun Bowl Preview

December 31, 2010 2:00 PM ET
Stadium: Sun Bowl, El Paso, Texas
Payout: $1,900,000
Played: 1935-present
Once known as: N/A
Broadcasters: Verne Lundquist, Gary Danielson
Sideline Reporter: Tracy Wolfson
Storyline: Miami and Notre Dame once had a high-profile rivalry in the 1980’s, but twenty years after their last meeting, both come stumbling into the Sun Bowl broken teams. Notre Dame was sitting at 4-5 after losing to Tulsa October 30th, but was able to regroup and win three straight over Utah, Army, and USC. The Notre Dame football program has been a hotbed of controversy with the death of a student videographer and the suicide of a student assaulted by a football player. Meanwhile, Miami finished the season with an overtime loss to South Florida and subsequently fired Randy Shannon who was never able to get the Hurricane program to the ACC title game or a bowl win. Interim head coach Jeff Stoutland will lead the team. Notre Dame needs to win the Sun Bowl to generate some good publicity for the program. Miami is looking to get its first bowl win in four years. Miami’s last bowl win came on December 31st, 2006—a 21-20 win over Nevada in the MPC Computers Bowl.
All-time Series: 15-7-1 Notre Dame
Line: Miami by 2.5

Notre DameMiami
Overall Record7-5Overall Record7-5
Conference RecordN/AConference Record5-3
Bowl Record14-15Bowl Record18-15
Last Bowl Win2008 HawaiiLast Bowl Win2006 MPC Computers

No comments:

Post a Comment