Tuesday, December 7, 2010

On The Hot Seat: Week 14

1. Paul Wulff—Washington State lost the Apple Cup after having two bye weeks to prepare. Paul Wulff is statistically the worst head coach in Cougar history, yet the administration has decided he will stay. Wulff is 3-32 against FBS teams in his three year tenure! What is the athletic department thinking?

2. Mike Locksley—Mike Locksley is 2-22 after two horrendous seasons. The University of New Mexico may not be able to financially afford to buy out his contract for another season or two. The moral of the story: don’t give money-spinning contracts to unproven coaches. If your team has the Lobos on their schedule for the 2011 season, they have a guaranteed W.

3. Bob Toledo—Bob Toledo is 13-35 after four seasons at Tulane. Other than a winning football team being low on the priority list for a university such as Tulane, I have no clue why Toledo will be returning to coach the 2011 season.

4. Neil Callaway—Neil Callaway is 15-33 in four seasons at UAB. Like Tulane, UAB will retain a head coach with four consecutive losing seasons for a fifth season. The tolerance for losing in Birmingham is apparently much higher than it is for other programs around the country, where a headman gets canned if improvement is not seen after three or four seasons.
5. Ron Zook—Illinois lost to Fresno State for the second straight year in its season finale. Illinois ends the season 6-6 and will play in the Texas Bowl against Baylor on December 29th. If the Fighting Illini lose, Ron Zook will have five losing seasons in his six years at Illinois.

6. Steve Fairchild—Fairchild has been talking about how the Rams’ football program is heading in the right direction. The 13-24 record and the fact that the Rams were routed eight times during the 2010 season say otherwise.

7. Dennis Erickson—Arizona State ended the season positively, beating rival Arizona in a close game. Despite being 6-6, the Sun Devils cannot play in the postseason since two of their six wins were over FCS schools. Only one FCS-win counts towards bowl eligibility. Erickson will be allowed to stay the last year of his contract despite being 17-19 in Pac-10 play over his four years.

8. David Bailiff—Lucky for David Bailiff one bowl win and a 19-30 record in four years is acceptable at Rice, a school with less than 3,500 undergraduates. The administration has decided to let Bailiff stay, but the pressure to win next season will be 3,500 pounds per square yard of Rice Stadium.

9. Rich Rodriguez—The way Rodriguez’s contract is drawn up, it will be $1.5 million cheaper to fire him come January 1st than prior to that date. With athletic director David Brandon stating he will evaluate Rodriguez after Michigan’s bowl game, many are thinking Dick Rod will be fired if he loses to Mississippi State in the Gator Bowl on January 1st. Rodriguez has never beaten rivals Michigan State and Ohio State. He is 6-18 in conference games.

10. Ron English—Ron English got two wins this season, an improvement over a winless season in 2009. English will need to get at least double his wins next season if he wants to stick around in Ypsilanti.

Waiting list: DeWayne Walker, Rick Neuheisel

No comments:

Post a Comment